Trapped in Paradise – the DC Edition

Part travel blog, part philosophical musings. All tongue-in-cheek ridiculousness.

Halloweentime in Hawaii

Leave a comment

Get your Halloween game face on!

Get your Halloween game face on!

After quite a bit of thinking, I’ve come to the sad conclusion that there’s no way I can keep this blog going now that I’m no longer living in Hawaii. I’m really disappointed because I’ve really enjoyed writing Trapped in Paradise. However, because my departure from the islands was rather abrupt, I’ve still got a few Hawaii topics up my sleeve that I’d wanted to write about, so I intend to keep it going until the end of the year. In the meantime, I invite you to check out my new blog The Skeptical Sailor, where I’m writing about my adventures living aboard a sailboat.

I REALLY hope this isn't in my future (Shoutout to Teen Girl Squad!)

I REALLY hope this isn’t in my future (Shoutout to Teen Girl Squad!)

Without further ado, I’d like to take this opportunity to talk about the extravaganza that is Halloween in Hawaii. I know, it may seem a bit early, and a lot of us haven’t even decided on our costumes yet. However, if you’re living in Hawaii and you don’t have a costume yet, you’re already behind. In the islands, Christmastime has nothing on Halloweentime!

Blurred Lines, indeed. Poor "Miley."

Blurred Lines, indeed. Poor “Miley.”

Oh, and your costume had better be a good one. Halloween is NO JOKE here, as I found out the hard way during my first season. I’d scored a ticket to the famous Crazy Sexy Ghoul party, and put together a cheap “angel of death” costume consisting of an old corset from the bottom of my closet and some cheap black feathered wings I’d gotten from Amazon for $20. At the time I’d been working the night shift for two months straight, so didn’t really put a lot of thought into dressing up. It was a decision I immediately regretted upon entering the party.

Put to shame by a bunch of stormtroopers. Lesson learned!

Budget costuming lesson learned – I was put to shame by a bunch of stormtroopers!

Martians!

…and Martians!

...and Mortal Kombaters!

…and Mortal Kombaters!

...and the couple in the background who had constructed samurai costumes entirely out of Guinness cans! (Sadly this is the ONLY picture I can find of them. They won Halloween!)

…and the couple in the background who had constructed samurai costumes entirely out of beer cans! I’m so sad that this is the ONLY picture I can find of them.

People plan for months the costumes they’re going to wear, and come up with the most creative and outrageous (in a good way) ideas. I wish I’d had half of their creativity! I mean, the “yip yip” aliens from Sesame Street? Who even thinks of that?! So, to summarize Halloween in Hawaii Lesson One: Come early, and come prepared.

The next year I stepped it up and went as Batgirl. Meanwhile, my fiance wore the world's creepiest Superman costume that he'd bought in Japan.

The next year we stepped it up and went as Batgirl and the World’s Creepiest Superman. (He bought the costume in Japan.)

Lesson Two: Prepare your liver for total annihilation. Okay, that may be an exaggeration, but not by much because Halloweentime is basically nonstop partying. Last year I went to no less than five huge events and then spent the entire month of November detoxing. I like to think that after years in naval aviation I can handle my alcohol just fine, but I was still a bit relieved by the time the 31st was finally over.

Yeah...

Yeah…

Even so, if you love Halloween and enjoy a good party or several, October in Hawaii is a good time to visit. Bonus because it’s an off-tourist season, so you’ll only run into a quarter of the world’s population instead of, say, half.

So, for events: unfortunately, the Crazy Sexy Ghoul party I mentioned isn’t happening this year (which might actually be a good thing, because over the years it had gotten too big. It was the least enjoyable of the parties we had attended last year just because there were so many people it was hard to move, and we were waiting in line for over 45 minutes just to get drinks.) However, I’ve heard there’s a similar party happening at Longhi’s in Ala Moana Center on the 18th called Boos Booze and Boobs (silly name, but at least they’re raising money for Breast Cancer Awareness Month.) Also on the 18th is Zombie Crawl in Chinatown, which is exactly what it sounds like. The Honolulu Museum of Art is hosting Nightmare on Beretania Street on the 31st, in place of their monthly Art After Dark (where you drink wine, look at art, and pretend to be cultured.) All in all there’s no shortage of parties, from haunted train rides at the Dole Plantation to multiple haunted houses scattered around the island, and probably at least one more giant Chinatown block party. Honolulu Pulse a pretty good round-up of what’s going on.

Happy Halloweentime! Make a good costume and don’t drink and drive!

Author: Brit C

Aspiring author and travel enthusiast living in Washington DC. Stop by and say hi!

Leave a Reply

