Trapped in Paradise – the DC Edition

Part travel blog, part philosophical musings. All tongue-in-cheek ridiculousness.

Block parties and weekday hangovers

Leave a comment

I meant to write about this yesterday but I was too hungover to get on my computer, let alone type out a coherent blog post.

The most fashionable dog in Hawaii

The most fashionable dog in Hawaii

This past Monday I partook in the St. Patrick’s Day festivities in Chinatown Honolulu. Every now and then Chinatown holds a huge block party where they shut down one or several streets and set up food vendors, live bands, and copious amounts of beer and liquor. (This obviously is geared toward the over 21 crowd and Hawaii is pretty aggressive about carding in general, but that doesn’t stop some parents from bringing their children –  in strollers, even! – to the party. I guess you’re never too young to learn debauchery.) Anyway, these are held on the big “partying” holidays like St. Paddy’s, Mardi Gras, Cinco de Mayo, and even some made up holidays like “End of the World Day” aka December 21, 2012, which I also attended. I mean, if the world is going to end you might as well go out in style with 1,000+ of your new friends, right?

I wonder what happened to those guys who spent their life savings only to wake up on December 22 and realize they're broke?

I wonder what happened to those guys who spent their life savings only to wake up on December 22 hungover AND broke?

The block parties can get a little monotonous since the same food vendors, bands, and even some street performers tend to show up. Still, they’re a pretty good time especially if you’re visiting the islands and want to get out of Waikiki for a night. (It’s roughly a $20 cab ride to Chinatown.) I believe St. Patrick’s day is the largest of these parties, although I cannot confirm that these were the same bands and street vendors from Mardi Gras since I was too busy drinking multiple shots of Irish whiskey so that I could hate myself the next morning. That’s the other thing – most of these parties take place regardless of what day of the week it is. Raging on Monday night? Pfffft. You’ve got to start this week out right.

Go home, St. Patrick. You're drunk.

Go home, St. Patrick. You’re drunk.

By the way, I was quite entertained by this article – it made me wonder, how on earth did the legend of St. Patrick banishing the snakes from Ireland come about, anyway? Oh well, it makes for a good story… and a good excuse to drink Guinness. See you on Cinco de Mayo!

Author: Brit C

Aspiring author and travel enthusiast living in Washington DC. Stop by and say hi!

Leave a Reply

