Trapped in Paradise – the DC Edition

Part travel blog, part philosophical musings. All tongue-in-cheek ridiculousness.

Time Traveling

Leave a comment

I really wish there was a better way to handle the time difference between Hawaii and the mainland.

Where am I?!

Where am I?!

Yesterday’s post-game festivities (congrats Seahawks!!) made me think about this. We are either five or six hours behind the US east coast, depending on the time of year, which can sometimes be problematic for television viewing. Usually programming is delayed so that we can watch it at a reasonable time, but for live events you obviously have to deal with the time shift. This isn’t so much a complaint as an “it is what it is” statement, but it does make for some humorous scenarios where you’re hammered with your friends at 1:30 in the afternoon because that’s what time the Super Bowl starts. (In our case, the drinking actually commenced at 11am when we arrived at Yardhouse to claim a good table, and then continued until well into the evening after the Hawks won the Lombardi trophy. Needless to say, I’m not feeling so chipper this morning. If ever one needed a reminder that they are NOT 21 with an invincible liver anymore… ugh.)

cat monday

The time difference also makes phone calls fun. Thankfully my mother was never one who called in the middle of the night because she added instead of subtracted hours. However, with my fiancé now living on the east coast, we’ve had to make some adjustments to our evening phone calls. It’s tough during the week since there’s only about an hour-long window where we’re both available to talk: after I come home from work, but before he goes to bed. At least I’m now working a normal Monday-Friday schedule, so it’s not that bad. A while back I was doing shift work with a four days on/four days off schedule, so my free days would often fall in the middle of the week. This would sometimes result in awkward phone conversations in the middle of the night:

Me: “Heyyyyy, I’m out at the bar! I miss you!”
Him: “You’re what? What time is it?”
Me: “I don’t know, 2? It’s awesome, I’m dancing my face off, wish you were here!”
Him: “Uh, that great. It’s Wednesday morning and I’m about to go into a meeting. We’ll talk later, if you’re still alive.”
Me: “Of course I’m alive! I’m drinking red bull and vodka, I’ve got soooo much energy! I should go run a marathon or something. Hey, let’s do push-ups!”
Him: “… okay. I’m going to go to work now.”

I’m fully anticipating a drunken phone call one afternoon, while he’s at happy hour and I’m still slaving away at work, as payback.

#BowDown

A post shared by Washington Athletics (@uwathletics) on

One last Seahawks picture: fellow UW Husky Jermaine Kearse. 🙂

Author: Brit C

Aspiring author and travel enthusiast living in Washington DC. Stop by and say hi!

Leave a Reply

